Instagram isn't exactly your Mother... but that may be the voice you hear in your head when you see "Are you sure you want to post this?" pop up as you're commenting on someone's post.
A new Instagram feature notifies you when your comment may be considered offensive... before it's posted.
It's intended to curb online bullying by giving you a chance to think twice before you post. Ok, so maybe twice is a bit of an exaggeration. The problem is a lot of people post without thinking at all.
There's also a new feature that lets you restrict comments without the person knowing that you did it:
"Once you Restrict someone, comments on your posts from that person will only be visible to that person. You can choose to make a restricted person’s comments visible to others by approving their comments.Restricted people won’t be able to see when you’re active on Instagram or when you’ve read their direct messages."
The optimist in all of us would like to think a gentle reminder is all that's needed.